Review Sites

Are they functionally useless now?

Thalidomide Vintage Ad Shirt $22.14

The Kind of Tired That Sleep Won’t Fix Shirt $21.68

Thalidomide Vintage Ad Shirt $22.14

  1. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Well... 87 000 people can't be wrong

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      Sure they can

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      87000 people can be subscribed to the Try Guys

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Yes, due to poos

      >"""people"""

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Those 87 000 are bots.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      What about the other 8,105,782,921 people?

  2. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    my peenus hort

  3. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    I used rotten tomatoes like a decade ago and liked it. But at one point I think they removed audience reviews (I think they brought it back) and then of course Disney bought it so you know you really can't trust it.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >(I think they brought it back)
      Only """"verified"""" audience reviews are allowed

  4. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Generally I just find a couple youtube critics who like the same movies as me and check their takes. If they both like it, I'll watch.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      Kys

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      I do that as well. Sometimes friends recommendations, or If i see a ton of discussion or memes Ill take a look. I mean honestly I will give movies a shot since they are only a couple hours long. But tv shows I definatly need more convincing.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      who do you watch?

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        whom*

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        rlm, channel awesome, chris stuckmen

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        YMS and RLM for me

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >letterboxed full of morons
      >imdb full of normie homosexual morons
      Only source of kino recommendations i have are this site, some youtubers and this one friend.

      Based. People seething in replies are homosexuals. Kino corner especially very cool dude

  5. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    literally just watch the trailer, if there are some individually good clips in it then it's a good movie

  6. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    They always were. IMDB numbers were alright as long as you knew their bias.

    Here’s the thing fricko, the entire internet was progressively filled up with morons who used to be too dumb to use it. If you want a review you find a specific profile with someone who shares your opinions in general then let them be your guide to new shit. Easy peasy.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      I've found IMDB scores the most accurate in judging older movies quality (I don't care for and don't watch new stuff). IMDB tends to overrate some movies that show up on various "best of" lists, but most of the time 7.0 score is an excellent threshold that separates good and great films from not so good and great. There are of course exceptions, some of my favorites have 6.8-6.9, but it's still pretty close to accuracy.

  7. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Always been

  8. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    >now
    user reviews have always been 99% garbage

  9. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    People overrate review sites. And they DEFINITELY overrate critic reviews. I wish people would watch what interests them rather than let a review number determine their taste.

    Movie analyses are better -- depending on the person doing it, of course.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Analysis is the dumbest way to find a new film, you'll ruin the act of watching it for the first time.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >I wish people would watch what interests them
      No one has the time to watch everything, and then determine what they like and keep watching things like that. What a nonsensical world view you have

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >No one has the time to watch everything, and then determine what they like and keep watching things like that.

        I do.

  10. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Know and follow the IMDB range, it's usually in the right ballpark

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      Why? They just take scores from publications nobody cares about. The New Yorker, for instance. I guarantee you the average New Yorker review reaches less than half the audience of whatever the latest Moist Critical review made in a day.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        imdb is popular vote
        maybe you're thinking of metacritic

  11. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Audience scores are generally trustworthy.

    Critic scores are completely useless now.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      most audience members don’t have a degree in media literacy, chuddy

  12. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Just watch the movie yourself?

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      >Just buy the product without evaluating it
      No thanky wanky.

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        Movies are free

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          they still waste your time

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            Not as much as trying to parse random morons opinions does lol

            • 4 weeks ago
              Anonymous

              A moron's opinion can be absorbed in 1 minute or less depending on how much he rambled. You read 4-5 moron opinions and that gives you a rough idea of what you're getting yourself into if you watch the movie. A movie is 2+ hours.

              • 4 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                You will have a general idea of how you feel about a movie within the first 5-10 minutes of it and can just turn it off if you don’t like it lmfao

              • 4 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                the green knight had the most kino first 10 minutes ever

                and then the rest of the movie was stupid shit for morons

              • 4 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                so watch it for 15 minutes and then turn it off?

              • 4 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                i was in the theater homie there is like a whole different waiting for the bus syndrome calculus there

  13. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I use RateYourMusic because they also do films and they have rules against joke reviews.

    They’re top 100 films also beats the rest of other sites.
    https://rateyourmusic.com/charts/top/film/all-time/

  14. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I just use it as a shit filter. If something is less than a 7 its a pretty good indicator to me that it's not gonna be enjoyable. I can't really think of a movie that I watched that was under a 7 on IMDB and was enjoyable. On my rating scale I find that Metacritic tends to underrate stuff, RT and IMDb tend to overrate stuff but after I look at the IMDb and see that it's a 7 or more I'll watch a trailer and see if it would be something I'm interested in.

  15. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I just watch good movies. I don't listen to reviewers. I just have the innate sense to watch good movies all the time. if you don't maybe you shouldn't be on this board

  16. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >I need to be told what to think
    They've always been useless.

  17. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >letterboxd review
    >not agreeing with mainstream shills
    lol, lmao

  18. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I read letterboxd reviews sometimes, but sort by new instead of top. The hivemind always pushed the gaygiest most unfunny shit to the top, while people might actually have interesting analysis of the film buried.

  19. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    For me it's using Letterboxd strictly as a diary, ignoring all other users and reviews and forming my own opinions.

  20. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    they've never been useful. i literally don't care about what any other people think about a particular movie or show. if i like it then i like it, if i don't then I dont.
    i dont need random nobodies on the internet to convince me if a movie is a masterpiece or a masterpiece of dogshit. ill form my own opinion

  21. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Always have been. No one cares what you think anymore unless you a of a certain stock and own tons of stocks.

  22. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I wait for a full plot description to pop up on Wikipedia. If it reads as interesting I will then watch it.

  23. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >i wonder what other people think for me

  24. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I used the reviews in the TV guide for years, rarely steered me wrong. In the internet age, I feel I'm stuck out at sea.

  25. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I don't care what people think about movies or shows. Me being on Cinemaphile, a place where people post their opinions on these things, is merely a coincidence, okay?

  26. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >not watching a 15 minute summary at 2x

  27. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    IMDb is still the most trustworthy

  28. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    tbh i just watch whatever sounds interesting based on the synopsis of the pirate streaming website that is up that evening.

  29. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Letterboxd is a good tool for cataloging the movies I've watched for reference purposes but the community is actual dogshit. Letterboxd reviews are mostly either unfunny tryhard one-liners or genuine fricking schizophrenia.

  30. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Rotten Tomatoes has been useless since people (companies) realised it could be used for marketing. Letterboxd has been shit since people realised """funny""" reviews get more engagement.

    The only reliable reviewer is my gut feeling.

  31. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I scroll down to the Critical Reception section on a film's wikipedia page and skim through the critical reviews cited. What they rated it doesn't really matter but if all of the praise is of cultural nonsense and says nothing of the film itself I feel safe in ignoring the film altogether. Likewise if criticism is along the lines of "this was hard to understand", I know it's a useless midwit review.

    It's an imperfect system but it works well enough for modern slop.

  32. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The shitty one-liners on letterboxd doesn't happen if you don't watch popular slop all the time. Just watch what interests you, don't let review sites choose your taste.

  33. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Just watch the trailer u gay

  34. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I had to lose weight in order to get a "tight 5", you know what I'm talking about, fellas??

  35. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I'm probably in the minority, but I couldn't give a shit what score random people on internet give to a movie

  36. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I just check what my letterbox friends (Cinemaphile users) rated a movie and that gives a pretty good idea

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      any good accounts to follow?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *